• Home
  • Alumni & Friends
  • Advisory Board

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board consists of individuals of stature from business, industry, government and academia who provide guidance and assistance for the benefit of the Department. Several board members are graduates of KU-ME who are committed to the well-being of the Department, while others serve because of a strong interest in the continued success of the Department and our students. The Board convenes twice each year to review our programs and initiatives, and to make recommendations that help the Department maintain the quality and relevance of our education and research activities.

The mission of the Mechanical Engineering Advisory Board is to:
  • Provide an organized, consistent means for interaction between the Department and the professional, industrial, and business communities.
  • Offer advice on issues important to the Department.
  • Support and promote the Department through personal, corporate and other means.
  • Cultivate excellence in KU ME graduates at all levels, and provide employment for our graduates when feasible.


Dave Barber, Chairman of the Advisory Board
Vice President, Engineering Services
JE Dunn Construction

Alison Brown
Senior Market Analyst
Kiewit Power Group

Angela Chammas
Vice President - Talent Management & HR Relationship Management
Sprint Nextel Corporation

LaRoux K. Gillespie
Engineering Manager
Honeywell (ret.)
Past President, Society of Manufacturing Engineers

Austin Hausmann
Chanje (Los Angeles)

Ron Hill
Founder and President
Hemco Manufacturing

Kwang Sun Kim
Professor/Director of the Semiconductor & Display Equipment Research Center
Korea University of Technology and Education

Michael Kuss
SpiritAerosystems (Wichita)

Bethany Pearson
Senior Mechanical Engineer
Burns & McDonnell

Bamdad Pourladian
Director of Research & Development
Wireco World Group

Charles Salanski
Wire Rope (ret.)

Jim Straight
Staff Member
Group DX5, Los Alamos National Laboratory

G. Scott Stallard
Vice President
Black & Veatch

Greg Towsley
Former Director of Regulatory and Technical Affairs
Grundfos Pumps

Mohammed Zikry
Zan Prevost Smith Distinguished Professor, Dept. of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
North Carolina State University

KU Today
High school seniors can apply to the SELF Program, a four-year enrichment and leadership experience
Engineering students build concrete canoes, Formula race cars, unmanned planes, and rockets for competitions nationwide
More first and second place awards in student AIAA aircraft design contests than any other school in the world
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times